A Chemo Girl

Life's Moments 2008 -- 2009 026

October is the breast cancer awareness month.  Here is my survivor poem written in-between chemo sessions several years ago.  The care of my family and friends, and a bit of dark humor helped me deal with the pain/suffering at the time.  To all the cancer survivors, may we live long and thrive!

A Chemo Girl

Blurry vision, constipation.
You ask how my body functions?
Neuropathy, mouth sores and hair loss.
Dizzy, fatigued–that’s what I’m feeling.

You say to look at the bright side:
This girl is put on the chemo diet.
Drops down a few dress sizes.
You don’t think I will ever miss it.

But surely I am now a skinny girl
Who can still tread some serious miles.
Wearing my batik turban wrap,
Off on the suburban streets I roll.

 

Leave a Reply

